The CE/AD Question

Why am I using CE and BCE?

At school you may have used BC, and AD to denote dates. BC is “Before Christ”, and AD is “Anno Domini”, or “In the year of the Lord”.

As you can probably imagine, this method of denoting dates is not really appropriate to everyone around the world, from different religions and cultural contexts. In the interests of inclusivity and plenty of other reasons BC and AD are now considered outdated, and the modern convention is to use CE: “Common Era” (or “Current Era” sometimes) , or BCE, “Before the Common(/Current) Era”.

Obviously people still use BC and AD, and it’s understood by everyone, but it’s no longer the standard convention academically. So there.

And because I feel like there should be a picture of something nice in everything I post. Here are some happy bees.

(Correction. I have been told by several people that these are happy hoverflies. Not happy bees. I can only apologise.)

Photo credit: Me. Go me.

One thought on “The CE/AD Question

Leave a comment